Top Ten Tuesday | Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romance In Books

06_17_2013_book-smellAs y’all know what’s good, Top Ten Tuesday an awesome weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish and today I’m bringing you the top ten things I like and dislike about romance in books!

LIKES

1. Keep Calm and Fall in Love. When the relationship isn’t rushed and it takes the characters a while to fall in love.

2. Girl Power. When the girl is badass and doesn’t wait for the guy to take the first step.

3. LGBTQAI. When the romance isn’t necessarily between a guy and a girl.

4. Go Spartans! When the couple fights because real relationships ain’t perfect!

5. The Day After.Β  When they make up after a fight.

DISLIKES

1. Too much. When they’re too clingy. Like really, you don’t really need your boyfriend to go to the bathroom with you.

2. Make-out session every chapter. Okay stop, you’re gonna fill his lungs with your saliva!

3. Exaggerating feelings. When they say jewels like “I can’t live without you” to each other and there’s an “I love you” every single page of the damn book.

4. Love triangles. Who likes to share?

5. SHIT IT BURNS!Β All the guys in YA literature are way too hot to handle. Where are the regular/real guys at?

Β 

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romance In Books

  1. I can relate to all of these. I’m always looking for good LGBTQAI books (although at this point I think we could just rattle off the whole alphabet so as to include everyone :D) and romances that have a more natural pace to them instead of I LOVE YOU SO MUCH I’M GOING TO DIE FOR YOU when they’ve known each other for, like, two seconds. I love a good fight when the couple manage to fight healthily and still maintain their respect for each other and not break up at every little disagreement – THAT shows a good relationship, in my opinion. And of course yes to girl power and guys that don’t look like an adonis impersonation. Great post!

    Like

  2. I feel your pain with the guys being always hot, you should read the darkest power trilogy by Kelley Armstrong. Derek is not portrayed as this really hot guy, quite the opposite actually.

    Like

  3. Yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes to all five of your Dislikes. πŸ˜‰ I’m also not a huge fan of insta-love. Some readers don’t seem to mind it, but to me it’s just not that believable.

    And like you, I also prefer relationships that aren’t rushed, and when there’s tension between the couple. Things aren’t always smooth sailing in real-life relationships, and literary romances should reflect that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

