The Thorn and the Sinking Stone by C.J. Dushinski [Non-Spoilers Review]

Title: The Thorn and the Sinking Stone

Author(s): CJ Dushinski

Pages count: 247 pages

Publisher: Entangled Teen

ISBN: 9781633751729

Rating: 4 stars

I got a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review via NetGalley.

Highly entertaining and incredibly well-written, this debut novel from C.J. Dushinski brings to life a romantic urban-fantasy tale that’s worth reading to the last word. The story is a creative twist to Romeo and Juliet along with a potentially monster world that I can’t wait to read more about!

I do hope this gets a sequel or a companion novel because the world created throughout the story has SO MUCH potential! Plus, it has an awesome cover.

Premise taken off GoodReads:

“Warring families. Forbidden love. And danger they can’t escape…

Daggers. Roses. Cowboys. Boat Men. Survivors of Earth’s Last War, four “families” vie to rule the dreary streets of Rain City through violence and blood. Valencia Hara, Princess of the wealthy Black Roses, is raised in warrior ways with sharpened steel. But she is no ordinary Rose. She is Cursed—tainted with the ability to see seconds into the future…

To avenge his father’s death, Sebastian Leold, of the rival gang Two Daggers, must face off against the Black Princess, he with his dagger, she with her katana sword. Yet a secret from a shared past leaves him unable to kill beautiful Valencia; nor can she kill him. For they once knew each other beyond their blood feud…and they have more secrets in common than they know.

But in a world filled with vengeance and violence, there can be no room for love…”

First of all, this book sucked me in from the first chapter. It kept me at the edge of my seat most of the time and I loved the atmosphere/setting the author developed. I loved the writing, the male lead and all the characters, the plot, and everything in this book! I gave it 4 stars because there are some things I would’ve changed but overall it’s a really good read.

Valencia, the female lead character, had such a strong personality and I felt that all throughout the book. She is revengeful, strong-minded, and willing to do the impossible in order to save the ones she cares about. Other than having an epic name, she is a very likable main character and I just want a little more from her. I’m curious as to how this character evolves and where life takes her. AND SHE FIGHTS WITH A KATANA, how cool is that?!

Sebastian, the male main character, was just pure love! I loved how loyal he was. Even though Valencia and him were rivals he always tried to satisfy both Valencia and the Daggers showing himself selfless.

The love story was romantic excellence and delivered a lot of swoon-worthy moments. I found it was the perfect mixture of action, romance and urban-fantasy. Maaaybe a little bit of dystopian? I like when I can’t tell the exact genre of a book; that means it’s not boring!

One of the concepts I was most interested in was the city being rule by four different gangs. We got to know a lot of the Roses and the Daggers but not of the other two gangs. I would’ve like a little more back story but who knows? Maybe the author is writing a companion or a sequel revolving the rest of the gangs? There might be a reason for everything!

The Thorn and the Sinking Stone came out around a week ago so make sure you grab a copy because it really is worth the money! I seriously ate it up. Being a debut novel, makes me think of how far this author will get if she keeps at it. Flawlessness at its finest!

Follow me on Twitter and BlogLovin’ and stay tuned liking my Facebook page! Also, friend me on GoodReads!

4 thoughts on “The Thorn and the Sinking Stone by C.J. Dushinski [Non-Spoilers Review]

Leave a Reply

