ARC Review: Mind Games by Teri Terry [Non-Spoilers]

Title: Mind Games

Author(s): Teri Terry

Pages count: 448 pages

Publisher: Orchard Books

ISBN: 1408334259

Rating: 4 stars

GoodReads | Amazon | Book Depository

A digital copy of this book was given to me by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I wasn’t expecting much when I first started Mind Games. I expected it to be fun and maybe even blow my mind with cool little plot twist merely because of its name. This is another book that surprised me for the good. I enjoyed the pace; not very fast at times but entertaining enough to keep you reading. I see Mind Games as a nearly-perfect combination of other mainstream books conserving its originality. The world Terry has created is haunting and believe me when I tell you I would gladly read a few more books set in this world.

Premise taken off GoodReads:

Luna is a no-hoper with a secret: in a world of illusion, she can see what is real. But can she see the truth before it is too late?

Luna has always been able to exist in virtual and real worlds at the same time, a secret she is warned to keep. She hides her ability by being a Refuser: excluded by choice from the virtual spheres others inhabit. But when she is singled out for testing, she can’t hide any longer.

The safest thing to do would be to fail, to go back to a dead-end life, no future. But Luna is starting to hope for something better, and hope is a dangerous thing…

As some of you know I appreciate when the world-building is done right and Terry totally did it for me. In a world where high-technology has consumed humanity, the government has found a way of controlling people by deceiving them into a sense of fake freedom. Everyone is sucked in by technology and it was a bit scary to read because this book is how I actually think the future will be like.
It was really cool to see how being dependent of technology changes people and the way we interact. It surprised me because of how thought-provoking this book is. I still think about it a few weeks after I finished it. Will our society reach the level of dependency these people have in the book? Are we in the pre-stage of that society today considering how the way we communicate has completely changed in the last few years? So many unanswered questions to think about!!
The characters were very likable, especially our main character, Luna. She refuses to plug into the virtual world because of her secret abilities and moral opinions, but we get to see how she changes her mind as the story develops while still trying to justify herself for using technology. She was sucked into a world of hackers and figure out who she was with little to no help and takes a lot of courage to do. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing her develop as a character and overcoming her fears. I definitely screamed at the few winks the author makes to the Harry Potter fans.
The side-kicks were also a great addition to the story!
If you enjoy action-packed, dystopian stories pick this one up because it will not disappoint!

Follow me on BlogLovin’ and Twitter!

7 thoughts on “ARC Review: Mind Games by Teri Terry [Non-Spoilers]

  1. This one caught my eye back in March just because the author’s name seem homophonically funny. 😛 As much as this sounds fantastic, I’m afraid it’s one I’ll have trouble getting into. Great review though!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I think the only thing that’s holding me back is that I haven’t had awesome experiences with dystopian novels so far, and this sounds like a sci-fi/dystopian book. Granted, I’ve only read The Hunger Games trilogy and The Uglies trilogy so that’s not enough exposure to the genre. I do have a whole TBR shelf full of dystopian novels with Divergent, Cinder, etc. So maybe one of those will start my love for the genre. Anyway, my explanation is starting to feel silly as I type it, haha. XD I guess I shouldn’t completely rule this out just yet. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

